Lowes sets the pace at Assen

Lowes sets the pace at Assen

Round 10  Assen  20/21/22 September

Title fighter Alex Lowes bounced back from an early crash to set the free practice pace running at near record pace ahead of Sunday’s opening Showdown round of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship at Assen (NL).

The Samsung Honda rider was uninjured as he slid off towards the end of the morning session, but Lowes fought back in the afternoon practice upping his pace to throw down the gauntlet to his rivals.

Lowes, who goes into these races six points down on the series leader and three times title winner Shane Byrne, explained: “It was frustrating to crash as that lost me time in the session this morning, but in the afternoon the bike was good and we put in some decent laps. We still have a few things to work on but we are feeling happy.”

Lowes arrives off the back of four consecutive race wins and he needed his faster pace to out-gun the series ‘rookie’ PJ Jacobsen aboard the Tyco Suzuki who closed within a quarter of a second of him.

The American outpaced Lowes’ Title Fighter rivals including James Ellison who was third aboard the Milwaukee Yamaha but marginally faster than the two three times winners of the British crown, Ryuichi Kiyonari on the second Samsung Honda and Byrne on the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki.

However Aussie Josh Brookes has work to do, languishing in ninth place on the time-sheets, while James Westmoreland saw his hopes of improving his time dashed by a tumble from his Buildbase BMW in the closing minutes of the afternoon session leaving him eleventh.

Noriyuki Haga, making his debut aboard the second Rapid Solicitors Kawsaki, was sixth fastest while Tommy Bridewell who switched to ride the second Milwaukee Yamaha had a crash in the morning session but fought back to be tenth fastest.


Free practice one:

1: Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) 1m:38.702s
2: PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki) +-.500s
3: Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.546s
4: James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.657s
5: Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +0.821s
6: Jakub Smrz (Padgetts Honda) +0.849s

Free practice two:

1: Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) 1m:38.049s
2: PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki) +0.264s
3: James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.382s
4: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Samsung Honda) +0.456s
5: Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.465s
6: Noriyuki Haga (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.621s

For more information please visit www.britishsuperbike.com

{lang: 'en-GB'}