Championship 1 2 Shakey and Lowes

Championship 1 2 Shakey and Lowes

The MCE British Superbike Championship returns to action this weekend at the picturesque Oulton Park circuit as reigning Champion Shane Byrne looks to extend his Championship lead.

Pirelli Overview
Two successful back to back weekends of racing at Brands Hatch and Thruxton saw the Pirelli supported British Superbike riders utilise both the dry ‘Slick’ tyres and the Pirelli Diablo Rain tyres throughout practice, qualifying and racing. It also saw the successful introduction of the all new World Superbike derived Diablo Superbike SC1 compound, proving immediately popular with all the riders the tyre has been the chosen option for the victor in all four races so far this season. Superbike riders are expected to use this option in dry conditions at Oulton Park this weekend.
The challenging Oulton Park circuit has a good mix of elevation changes through fast sweeping corners and is considered a real ‘riders’ circuit.
Continuing as the sole tyre supplier for the support classes, the British Supersport Championship, Pirelli National Superstock 1000 and Superstock 600 classes and the Triumph Triple Challenge riders will once again be utilising the Diablo Supercorsa SC V2 tyres. The second round of the Ducati 848 TriOptions Challenge will take place as a support race to the World Superbike round at Donington Park on the 24th – 26th May.
Pirelli riders and racers line up at Oulton Park

Pirelli riders and racers line up at Oulton Park

BSB Fan Opportunity

British Superbike fans can benefit from a new money off promotion for this long distance, high performing tyre. Racegoers need simply to visit their local tyre store and hand over their 2013 MCE British Superbike Championship ticket to benefit from this £26 saving on a pair of Angel GT’s.
Jim Worland, Pirelli Moto Product and Marketing Manager commented, “To celebrate the launch of this exciting new tyre we’ve teamed up with the MCE British Superbike Championship to offer a special offer. Exclusive to BSB fans, this money back option gives fans a cash benefit as and when they need to buy their new tyres, so hang onto your tickets!”
This offer runs from date of the first race of the 2013 MCE BSB Championship until 31st October 2013 to cover the full 12 round race season.
For a full listing of participating dealers and details, visit: http://www.pirelli.com/tyre/gb/en/motorcycle/genericPage/promotions/bsb_angelGT.html
Race Preview
With three victories from the four races so far this season, Reigning Champion Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne is proving the man to beat as he bids to secure an unprecedented fourth British Superbike crown. However it won’t be an easy ride for Byrne as James Ellison on the Milwaukee Yamaha will be hoping he can build on his race victory from Brands Hatch while after four successive podiums, young Alex Lowes will be hoping he can take his Samsung Honda to the top spot.
This round last year saw the postponed race from Brands Hatch take place and it was Tommy Hill who proved dominant as he sliced his way through the pack from row five in an incident packed race. However it was the second race of the weekend, held in wet conditions, which proved the most memorable as fan favourite Chris Walker took a very popular victory as he utilised his Pirelli Diablo Rain tyres to take his first British Superbike victory since 2000. In an ominous sign for this weekend, it was Shane Byrne who took the third and final race victory by over two seconds.
The British Supersport category has provided some of the most exciting racing of the year so far. Despite former Superbike star Stuart Easton taking three victories so far, it has not been an easy ride for him and with at least eight riders capable of taking victory Oulton Park will undoubtedly see some more of the fairing bashing, cut-throat action fans are becoming accustomed to.
Oulton Park's notorious Clay Hill

Oulton Park’s notorious Clay Hill

Pirelli View

Pirelli Racing Manager Jason Griffiths commented, “The flowing nature of the Oulton Park circuit is relatively ‘easy’ on the wear rate of the Diablo Superbike tyres. The performance of the new SC1 rear compound has been fantastic in the cool conditions we’ve experienced so far and it’s durability was proven on Thruxton’s high speed and abrasive surface at Round Two. Oulton has a tendency for short, sharp rain showers that provide ‘interesting’ races with rain tyres having to cope with a drying line. Let’s see what the race weekend brings.”
View from behind the screen
BSB veteran Michael Rutter will be making his 400th series appearance at Oulton Park this weekend and professes a love for the circuit, “It’s got to be one of the best circuits in the UK for both riders and spectators in my opinion. It has banked turns, fast downhill corners and changes in camber. The chicanes are very tight for Superbikes but they are a good place to outbrake people into. There’s always some last lap heroics into Lodge Corner too!
The key to a fast lap try is to not try too hard…. ie you have got to be smooth and stay relaxed, this is where the rhythm comes and ultimately a good result.”
MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park
2013 Championship Standings so far:
1:Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 91
2:Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) 76
3:Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) 60
4:James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) 51
5:Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) 42
6:James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) 21
2012 Flashback:
Race one:
1.   Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha)
2.   Noriyuki Haga (Swan Yamaha) +1.525s
3.   Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +1.685s
4.   Alastair Seeley (Tyco Suzuki) +4.320s
5.   Tommy Bridewell (Swan Yamaha) +4.460s
6.   Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) +6.340s
7.   Chris Walker (Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki) +6.879s
8.   Michael Rutter (MSS Bathams Kawasaki) +9.223s
9.   Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +9.252s
10. James Westmoreland (WFR Honda) +9.661s
Race two:
1.   Chris Walker (Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki)
2.   Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +1.790s
3.   Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +4.212s
4.   Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) +14.865s
5.   Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +17.512s
6.   Alastair Seeley (Tyco Suzuki) +18.071s
7.   Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) +19.356s
8.   Patric Muff (Supersonic BMW) +29.967s
9.   Dan Linfoot (Buildbase BMW) +33.367s
10. Alex Lowes (WFR Honda) +34.810s
Race three:
1.   Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)
2.   Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) +2.612s
3.   Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +5.481s
4.   Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +6.093s
5.   Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) +10.464s
6.   Noriyuki Haga (Swan Yamaha) +13.209s
7.   Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) +13.637s
8.   Graeme Gowland (WFR Honda) +13.865s
9.   Chris Walker (Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki) +18.276s
10. Alex Lowes (WFR Honda) +18.514s
More information regarding Pirelli’s entire range of racing and road tyres can be found atwww.pirelli.co.uk/moto
You can also follow Pirelli in British Superbikes and beyond on Facebook at ‘Pirelli Moto’ !
For more circuit and BSB information visit www.britishsuperbike.com
{lang: 'en-GB'}