Shakey at Snetterton in 2012

Shakey at Snetterton in 2012

The MCE British Superbike Championship returns to high speed action this weekend as Championship leader Shane Byrne looks to build on his impressive double victory at Knockhill, however he’ll face fierce competition from the chasing pack.

The paddock has had a full day testing at the Snetterton circuit so the teams and riders should be well prepared for the event. Jakub Smrz finished a surprise fastest followed by the ‘usual suspects’ of Alex Lowes and Shane Byrne.
Pirelli Overview
The successful introduction of the all new SC1 Pirelli rear tyre continued at Knockhill with all riders opting for this great ‘all rounder’ tyre. The tyres will be especially important this weekend with speeds in excess of 180mph and the possibility of high temperatures on track. Last week’s Snetterton BSB test gave Pirelli good feedback and most team’s tried race simulations for tyre wear.
Last years event was held in soaring temperatures with the vast majority of the field opted for the softer Pirelli Diablo Superbike SC1 rear tyre with only Alex Lowes, James Westmoreland and Jenny Tinmouth selecting the harder SC2 compound.
This weekend also sees the return to action for the Triumph Triple Challenge and Ducati TriOptions 848 Challenge alongside the British Supersport Championship, Pirelli National Superstock 1000 and 600 classes. All classes will be using the ‘control’ Diablo Supercorsa SC V2 tyres.
Shakey leads Brookes in the title chase

Shakey leads Brookes in the title chase

Race Preview

Current Champion and new series leader Shane Byrne will be looking to repeat his double win from Knockhill whilst Alex Lowes will be keen to make up lost points through a crash there after an incredibly consistent and competitive start to the season. Josh Brookes will again be keen to get stuck in after the two second places and likes the high speed nature of the Snetterton track. With the TT behind him now and a trip back to Australia, he is concentrating on logging that first win of the 2013 season.
With both last years winners absent from this years championship the top step of the podium will fiercely contested but Byrne will be tough to stop.
In the Supersport category Ben Wilson will be looking to challenge both Alastair Seeley and Stuart Easton after scoring his first double since 2011, whilst Australians Billy McConnell and Glen Richards are looking to close the points gap.
Pirelli View
Pirelli Racing Manager Jason Griffiths commented, “The majority of the teams participated in the official test at Snetterton last week which was held in good conditions, allowing them valuable time to fine tune their settings for the track. The performance of this years SC1 rear solution has been excellent in the first four rounds. Snetterton may yet provide us with the highest track temperatures of the year so far and therefore a new challenge for this SC1. The Diablo Supercorsa SC0 rear solution came into play during both Supersport races at Knockhill as tyre strategy played an important role. Track conditions permitting the SC0 could also play a part this weekend.”
View from behind the screen
Padgetts Honda rider Jakub Smrz will be heading to the Snetterton round full of confidence after leaving the official test top of the timing sheets;
“This was a great test for us. Honestly, Snetterton is quite similar to what I’m used to, its more like a European track, long fast corners and not so much stop and go. I knew we were going well and was really happy and a little surprised to take the fastest time at the finish!
I had a good feeling and we used a new tyre at the end which gave me really good grip. But just as importantly we worked on used tyres that had done more than 10 laps for most of the test.
It was important to get good data as this was my first ‘fast’ laps here, the official test at the beginning of the year was very cold– we even had snow. I really like the quick changes of direction and enjoyed the fast first corner a lot.
Knockhill was not easy for us, I prefer more fast, smooth circuits definitely. But overall I’m really enjoying BSB and the Padgetts team are great to work with. I’ve had six years with a twin cylinder bike so it’s been a big change but I think we are getting stronger and stronger.
All my favourite circuits are coming up now including Snetterton, Brands, Donington and Assen- so I’m really positive.”
MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Snetterton
Snetterton Official Test- combined times:
1.      Jakub Smrz (Padgetts Honda) 1m:51.869s
2.      Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) +0.186s
3.      Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.409s
4.      James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.799s
5.      James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +0.914s
6.      Chris Walker (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +0.946s
7.      Ryuichi Kiyonari (Samsung Honda) +1.568s
8.      Dan Linfoot (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) +2.084s
9.      Keith Farmer (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +2.123s
10. Peter Hickman (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) +2.386s
2012 Flashback:
Race one result:
1.         Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha)
2.         Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) +1.234s
3.         Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +6.847s
4.         Noriyuki Haga (Swan Yamaha) +10.304s
5.         Alex Lowes (WFR Honda) +10.333s
6.         Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) +16.360s
7.         Chris Walker (Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki) +20.503s
8.         Ian Lowry (Padgetts Honda) +20.524s
9.         Patric Muff (Supersonic BMW) +20.692s
10.       Barry Burrell (Buildbase BMW) +21.674s
Race two result:
1.         Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda)
2.         Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +1.336s
3.         Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +1.792s
4.         Ian Lowry (Padgetts Honda) +5.359s
5.         Graeme Gowland (WFR Honda) +8.974s
6.         Alex Lowes (WFR Honda) +9.223s
7.         Chris Walker (Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki) +12.231s
8.         Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +13.477s
9.         James Westmoreland (WFR Honda) +16.957s
10.       Patric Muff (Supersonic BMW) +20.539s
Championship standings after Knockhill:
1          Shane Byrne   Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki   166
2          Josh Brookes Tyco Suzuki                      136
3          Alex Lowes      Samsung Honda                130
4          James Ellison Milwaukee Yamaha             80
5          Jon Kirkham    Buildbase BMW                  76
6          Chris Walker   Quattro Plant Kawasaki       65 
More information regarding Pirelli’s entire range of racing and road tyres can be found at
{lang: 'en-GB'}