Taylor Mackenzie is aiming for a positive home round

Taylor Mackenzie is aiming for a positive home round

Round 5 – Knockhill – 22/23/24 June

Michael Laverty is aiming high in the Scottish fifth round of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship at Knockhill to build on the spectacular turn around in fortunes he enjoyed in the previous round at Snetterton.
The Samsung Honda rider ended a disappointing run of form at the Norfolk circuit with a second place and a victory as the team finally solved the issues that had troubled Laverty and now the Ulsterman is dialled in for more strong results to close in on the three riders currently heading the overall standings.
Laverty gets dialled in on the Samsung Honda

Laverty gets dialled in on the Samsung Honda

Laverty said: “The bike is feeling really good – we came here strong from Snetterton and have made a few little tweaks so we are right in the ball park. Now we have to work hard at consistency and keep chipping away. We have already done a race distance run with good lap times so it is looking good.

“I’m feeling confident we can progress further and it is good to have a gap over the rest and to know that we can still improve,” added Laverty who had outpaced the former two times winner of the crown Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne riding the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki by 0.261 seconds.Tommy Hill set the third fastest time aboard the Swan Yamaha as he aims to overhaul the single point deficit he currently has on standings leading Aussie Josh Brookes who set the fourth best time on his Tyco Suzuki.

Chris Walker, one of the seven riders who has so far celebrated victory in this highly competitive series, however will miss this round having crashed during the morning free practice session in which he suffered suspected fractures to both heels.

For more information please visit
Free practice one:
1: Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 49.510s
2: Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) +0.179s
3: Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) +0.295s
4: Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +0.403s
5: Tristan Palmer (GBmoto Honda) +0.508s
6: Alastair Seeley (Tyco Suzuki) +0.575s
Free practice two:
1: Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) 49.443s
2: Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.261s
3: Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) +0.358s
4: Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +0.405s
5: Alex Lowes (WFR Honda) +0.482ss
6: Alastair Seeley (Tyco Suzuki) +0.543s
{lang: 'en-GB'}