Farmer set the pace from Kiyonari by just 0.001 seconds

Farmer set the pace from Kiyonari by just 0.001 seconds

Report – Round 9 Donington Park 6-7-8 September

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship rookie Keith Farmer upset the order at a wet Donington Park this afternoon as he toppled triple champion Ryuichi Kiyonari from the top of the times in the final seconds of free practice by just 0.001 seconds.

Farmer fired out his final lap of the session to demote Kiyonari from the top as the former three times champion was using the track time to prepare his Samsung Honda. These races will be crucial to Kiyonari’s hopes of joining his Samsung Honda team-mate Alex Lowes among the six “Title Fighters” who qualifying for the title deciding Showdown sequence of races that begin with the next round at Assen.

The Showdown was also on the minds of Buildbase BMW duo James Westmoreland, who set the fourth fastest time and Jon Kirkham, who ended the session ninth fastest. Tommy Bridewell, who is promising to fight all of the way for a position in the Showdown on the Halsall Kawasaki, was marginally faster than Milwaukee Yamaha’s James Ellison who is also one of five riders bidding for the remaining three places in the Showdown.

Lowes on the second of the Samsung Hondas was the fastest of the riders already qualified for the Showdown in third place with series leading Shane Byrne who is aiming for a record fourth MCE-BSB crown in fifth and Tyco Suzuki’s Josh Brookes in thirteenth place.

Double Italian champion Matteo Baiocco had set the pace in the morning session and he was back inside the top ten onboard the Rapido Sport Racing Ducati this afternoon with Bathams Honda’s Michael Rutter completing the top ten.

For more information please visit


Free practice one:

1: Matteo Baiocco (Rapido Sport Racing Ducati) 2m:05.068s

2: Dan Linfoot (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) +8.953s

3: James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) –

4: Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) –

5: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Samsung Honda) –

6: Jamie Poole (Quelch BSD Motorsport) –


Free practice two:

1: Keith Farmer (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)

2: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Samsung Honda) +0.001s

3: Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) +0.994s

4: James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +1.352s

5: Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +1.451s

6:Tommy Bridewell (Halsall Racing Kawasaki) +1.863s

{lang: 'en-GB'}