MCE BSB race one action from Oulton Park

MCE BSB race one action from Oulton Park

Round 7    Oulton Park  10-11 August Report

James Ellison claimed his second victory of the season at Oulton Park in a hard fought opening race of the seventh round of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, denying tripe title winner Shane Byrne his 50th race victory.

Milwaukee Yamaha rider Ellison snatched the lead at the start of the second lap with Byrne moving second three laps later at the expense of pole-starter Alex Lowes on the Samsung Honda who was pushed to third.

The race was developing into a real thriller with Byrne piling the pressure on Ellison, but he kept his cool, having the extra drive through the corners to keep his advantage and to consolidate his fourth place in the standings.

Ellison was victorious in the opening race at Oulton Park

Ellison was victorious in the opening race at Oulton Park

Ellison said: “We are coming good at the right time, I feel stronger now than at any time so far this season and we have picked up the pace at just the right time. Shakey kept me honest and it was hard because we were both riding at the limit.”

Byrne’s second place finish means he becomes the first rider to have secured his position in the end of season Showdown. The defending champion said: “The race was run at a fantastic pace and we were pushing hard to give everything for that one. We will have a look at the data tonight and see what we can do about it for the two races tomorrow (Sunday).”

Lowes took third ahead of Tyco Suzuki’s Josh Brookes as the top four places in the opening race featured four different manufacturers as Yamaha, Kawasaki, Honda and Suzuki were all represented.Tommy Bridewell gave the Halsall Kawasaki team their best MCE BSB result so far in their debut season, finishing fifth ahead of former triple champion Ryuichi Kiyonari who had fought through from the fifth row of the grid to sixth.


Race one result:
1: James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha)
2: Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.186s
3: Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) +1.923s
4: Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +4.326s
5: Tommy Bridewell (Halsall Racing Kawasaki) +5.010s
6: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Samsung Honda) +9.960s

Championship standings:
1: Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 252
2: Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) 227
3: Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) 223
4: James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) 145
5: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Samsung Honda) 120
6: Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) 108

For more information please visit www.britishsuperbike.com

{lang: 'en-GB'}