Round 5 - Maxxis British Motocross Championship - Foxhill, Swindon (Nico Aubin)

Round 5 – Maxxis British Motocross Championship – Foxhill, Swindon (Nico Aubin)

Buildbase Honda’s Nico Aubin took his second win of the season at the fifth round of the ACU Maxxis British Motocross Championship at Foxhill in Swindon, while one-race deal rider Adam Chatfield displayed his potential in the series.

The weekend started well for the Buildbase Honda outfit, with Aubin quickest in Superpole and Chatfield showing good pace after his mid-week test session with the team.

In moto one, Chatfield got a great start out of the gate and was sitting comfortably in fourth position by the first turn. Aubin found himself in 22nd place with a lot of work to do but as the race developed, he pushed hard to make his way through the pack and cross the line in fourth place with his team-mate closely behind in fifth.

In the second moto, Aubin got a flying start off the line and entered into a battle for the lead with Matiss Karro. The pair exchanged places several times throughout the race, but Aubin made a spectacular move up the inside of Karro to take the win, while Chatfield brought his Buildbase Honda home in sixth.

In the combined MX1/MX2 Super Final, Aubin had a smooth start and began chasing the leading pack, but in the end he had to settle for fifth place. Chatfield had a poor start and found himself at the back of the field. Despite this, he fought through the pack to finish in a respectable ninth place in his class.

MX1 Moto One
1) Kristian Whatley, 2) Matiss Karro, 3) Jonathan Barragan, 4) Nicolas Aubin (HON), 5) Adam Chatfield (HON), 6) Dorren Coutts, 7) Jack Brunell, 8) Jamie Law, 9) Scott Elderfield, 10) Josh Waterman

MX1 Moto Two
1) Nicolas Aubin (HON), 2) Matiss Karro, 3) Jonathan Barragan, 4) Kristian Whatley, 5) Gert Krestinov, 6) Adam Chatfield (HON), 7) Brad Anderson, 8) Scott Elderfield, 9) Jamie Law, 10) Jack Brunell

MX1 & MX2 Moto Three
1) Kristian Whatley, 2) Jonathan Barragan, 3) Matiss Karro, 4) Brad Anderson, 5) Nicolas Aubin (HON), 6) Dean Ferris, 7) Neville Bradshaw, 8) Bryan Mackenzie, 9) Gert Krestinov, 10) Shane Carless, 14) Adam Chatfield (HON)

{lang: 'en-GB'}